Sam Crowe pianist/keyboardist/composer


The Sam Crowe Group was formed in 2008 when Crowe (pianist/Composer) decided to expand his working trio with Jasper Hoiby (bass) and Dave Smith (drums) to forge a larger ensemble sound with the added textures of Will Davies on guitar and Adam Waldmann on saxophones. This new instrumental pallete has served as a basis for Crowe to explore and develop a highly individual band ‘sound’ in his writing, with exciting and beautiful results.

In May 2010, the group released their debut album on the F-IRE presents label which has received high praise and accolades from the press and public alike and has created a buzz on the British jazz scene.  Jazzwise magazine described the album as “An extremely impressive debut by the young pianist-composer…. As promising a start to a solo career as you’ll see all year.” ****

In Feb 2012, Sam, Adam Waldmann and Will Davies went to famed New York studio Systems II to record the second album Towards The Centre Of Everything. Joined by some of the most exciting instrumentalists on the planet, Will Vinson, Mark Guiliana, Alan Hampton the new album promises to be a development on an innovative sound world Sam continues to build on.

Crowe’s compositions reflect his range of influences as a composer and improvisor from Debussy to Keith Jarrett and Kurt Rosenwinkel through to his Bristol roots of Roni Size and Massive Attack and is a combo of some of the most distinctive individual voices on the UK creative music scene, who have also received recent praise from the press as being among the most cutting edge and fresh sounding new talent in this country.